Background Check Report
What You Can Do:
START HERE - Try searching a friend, relative, celebrity, yourself or someone else you might know..
Birth certificates in Connecticut are not considered as public information until 100 years after the birth date. Otherwise, the requestor for a birth certificate copy, such as to use for Connecticut background checks, must be a person named on the document, his or her parent, guardian, grandparent or spouse or a legal representative. Authorized persons such as a health director or chief electoral officer may also be granted as requestors for birth record information from the Connecticut Department of Health, Vital Records Office. The fees for a Connecticut birth certificate are $30 when requested from this state office and $20 from a town office.
Unlike birth certificates, anyone over 18 with valid ID and the fee of $20, from either the state or a town office, may request a death certificate. The deceased’s name, town and date of death, plus the cause of death must be included on the request form. Certified copies of marriage certificates are also available for $20 with the required information. Copies of divorce documents are only available from the Connecticut Superior Court in the town where the divorce was granted and fees may vary.
START HERE – Try searching a friend, relative, celebrity, yourself or someone else you might know..
State certified vital records copies, that may be needed for Connecticut background checks, take an average of 6 weeks when ordered through the mail. In person requests may involve same day service at the customer window at the Hartford Vital Records office.
Connecticut State Department of HealthVital Records Office410 Capitol Ave., MS#11VRSHartford, CT 06134-0308
Phone: (860) 509-7700Fax: (860) 509-7964Customer Window Hours: Monday – Friday 8:15am – 3:45pm
The public may request accident and incident reports from the Connecticut State Police. Anyone may search for felony and misdemeanor convictions as well as motor vehicle convictions. Any requests for criminal records, such as those that may be used in Connecticut background checks, must be submitted on Form DPS-0846-C. Fingerprinting at a Connecticut police station has a $15 fee. A fingerprint based search with a criminal convictions check is $50. A name search, done without fingerprints is $36.
Checks or money orders for the search fee should be payable to Treasurer, State of Connecticut. Although fingerprint based Connecticut criminal background checks are likely to be more accurate and effective than a name based search alone, any known aliases and maiden names will be checked in the name search if these are provided by the requestor. The additional names widen the possible search results. A date of birth for the subject is also required and the person’s Social Security Number, if known, should also be submitted for increased possible results.
Under Connecticut law, persons who work in certain professions such as law enforcement, security and childcare must be subject to a criminal background check. There are other situations in which Connecticut background checks aren’t mandatory, but optional and these involve many private organization. Those wanting a dangerous weapons permit in the state of Connecticut must undergo a mandatory criminal history check.
Connecticut State PoliceEmergency Services and Public ProtectionDivision of State PoliceReports and Records1111 Country Club Rd.Middletown, CT 06457
Phone: (860) 685-8250