What You Can Do:
The Utah Office of Vital Records is responsible for registering all vital events which occur in Utah including Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce. These records are only available to immediate family members or to persons with written permission. Records no longer maintained by the Office of Vital Records and Statistics are found at the Division of Archives & Records Service. This includes Death Records 50 years old or more; Birth Records 100 years old or more; and Marriage and Divorce records 75 years old or more. Each copy of a document would cost $16 except for Birth files which cost $18 each. Additional copies of the same record will cost $8 each. Certified copies may be requested through mail, phone, or VitalChek online and payments can be made through money order, check, or credit card. Mail requests are usually processed and mailed within three weeks while orders through phone and online would take around 7 to 10 business days to process.
The Bureau of Criminal Identification of Utah Department of Public Safety manages all Criminal Records and fingerprints of the State. Access to such files is exclusive for residents however individuals may obtain a copy through third parties with an authorization of the subject. The report includes arrest details of the subject. Juvenile records are not included in the report. Both walk-in and mail requests are catered for a $15 fee. Applicants must also present a valid ID and fingerprints which are to be done at the local law enforcement agency.