What You Can Do:
North Dakota Background Checks usually comprises both public and criminal records. The Division of Vital Records issues certified copies of all Births and Deaths that occurred in the state of North Dakota. Requests for certified copies of Marriage and Divorce Records must be obtained through the county where the marriage license was issued or the divorce was decreed. The cost for a certified copy is $7.00 for Birth Record and $5.00 for Death and Marriage Records. For Divorce Records prices may vary from the County Recorder. All payments should be made through check or money order payable to ND Department of Health. Requests must be made in writing and forwarded subsequently by mail, fax, Internet or in person. To accomplish this, the department requires the requesting person to submit a legible photocopy of photo ID when making a request. Processing period for date of receipt would approximately take 5-7 business days.
North Dakota Criminal Record information can be obtained only from the Bureau of Criminal Investigation where a system that compiles records of arrests and prosecutions of individual offenders for use by law enforcement, the courts, and the public is located. A criminal history record check may be name-based or fingerprint based. To request a record, an individual must completely fill-up a Record Request Form. The subject’s full name and at least two additional item of information (the subject’s fingerprints, social security number, or date of birth) on the request form should match the data in the criminal history record system prior to the record’s release. A required $15.00 fee per record check must be included in the request. The check or money order must be made payable to the North Dakota Attorney General.