What You Can Do:
Nevada Vital Records Background Checks
The Nevada Department of Health and Human Services has birth and death certificates dating from July, 1911 to the present. Under the county and federal privacy laws, those accessing vital records information must be qualified to do so – usually by being the person mentioned on the document or an immediate family member. Nevada background checks must follow these standards and vital records requests must also contain a filled out application form as well as a fee.
The current fee for a certified copy of a birth or death certificate is $20. The Nevada Department of Health and Human Services does not maintain either marriage or divorce records. For marriage records, the County Recorder in the county where the license was issued must be contacted. For Nevada background checks involving a divorce, contacting the County Clerk in the county where the divorce was decreed is necessary to obtain the records.
Verification searches at $10 per name searched can be requested of and performed by the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services for a marriage or divorce that occurred after 1968. The county in which the event is thought to have occurred should be given in addition to the individual’s full name. The fee is for the search itself, whether or not results are found.
The address is:
Nevada Department of Health and Human Services
Nevada State Health Division
Office of Vital Records
Suite 104 – 4150 Technology Way
Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: (775) 684-4242
Fax: (775) 684-4156
Vital records orders may also be taken using VitalCheck at (877) 456-5410. There is an additional fee for this vendor service.
Nevada Criminal Background Checks
The Nevada Department of Public Safety has a database of criminal records, It also does fingerprint searches for a $21 fee. Usually, the individual named on the records must apply for access, or a person from an approved agency doing Nevada background checks. The criminal records don’t include traffic citations as these need to be obtained through a local law enforcement agency.
Limited criminal background information may be released for third party requests without a waiver. Local residents with a signed waiver, as well as authorized state and law enforcement agencies, can typically access more extensive criminal records for Nevada background checks.
The individual requesting the criminal record information pays the $21 fee. On this note, anyone must call the office beforehand to determine as to whether or not they make changes of their current rates. Nevada law doesn’t specify the requirements in this regard. A request form, plus usually a fingerprint card with 10 complete prints, is needed to ensure identification. A certified check or money order is acceptable and the criminal records for Nevada background checks must be requested by mail. Typically, the processing time is about 2 weeks.
The address to mail criminal record requests is:
Nevada Department of Public Safety
Suite 100 – 333 West Nye Lane
Carson City, NV 89706
Open Monday through Friday 8am – 5pm
Phone: (775) 684-6262
Another source that may be helpful when conducting Nevada criminal background checks is the Nevada Department of Corrections:
Nevada Department of Corrections
PO Box 7011
Carson City, NV 89702
Phone: (775) 887-3285