Florida Background Checks

  • All purpose, vital information
  • Based on Homeland Security Requirements
  • Accurate and easy

Florida Vital Records Background Checks

Background checking in Florida state typically begins at the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics. It’s important to note that in Florida, if a birth certificate is being sought by someone other than the person whose name appears on it, except for the parents or guardian, a court order is needed. As far as death certificates are concerned, anyone can request these records, such as for use in Florida background checks, as long as the death occurred in Florida.

Florida Background Check






Unique to the state of Florida, birth certificates, as well as death certificates, feature an embossed seal to meet requirements set by Homeland Security. There are both computer generated versions of Florida birth certificates available for $9 as well as the photocopy of the original document which has a processing fee of $14. In addition to birth, death and marriage records used for Florida background checks, there are military and immigration documents available for access.

Marriage and divorce records are maintained by the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, from June, 1927 to the present. If you are conducting Florida background checks and need information prior to 1927, contact the county court in which the marriage or divorce occurred. Contact the courts when searching for birth records before 1963 or if you are not the child or parent named on the birth certificate.

Here are the current fees for Florida vital records as well as source contact information:

*Birth Certificate – 1963 to present – $14 photocopy of original with Florida embossed seal
$ 9 computer generated version
$ 4 for additional copies
(A court order is needed for persons other than the child named on the
certificate, or his or her parents, to obtain a birth certifcate.)

*Marriage Record – June, 1927 to present – $ 5
$ 4 for additional copies
(The court order restrictions for birth certificates don’t apply to marriage records.)
(The estimated processing time for a marriage record is 2 – 3 weeks.)

*Divorce Record (Dissolution of Marriage) – June, 1927 to present – $5
$4 for additional copies
(The court order restrictions for birth certificates don’t apply to marriage records.)
(The estimated processing time for a marriage record is 2 – 3 weeks.)

*Death Certificate – $ 5 photocopy of original with Florida embossed seal
$ 4 for additional copies
(Mailed requests must include either a signed letter or application as well as a copy,
not the original, of your own photo ID.)
(The estimated processing time for a death certificate is 2 – 3 weeks.)

Personal checks or money orders should be made payable to the Bureau of Vital Statistics:

Florida Department of Health
Bureau of Vital Statistics
Attn: Customer Services
PO Box 210
1217 Pearl St.
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042

Phone (904) 359-6900 Ext. 1029
Vital Check (contracted vendor) (877) 550-7330
Fax (904) 359-6993

Florida Criminal Background Checks

The Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) serves as the central repository to provide public access to criminal history information in the state of Florida. Public request fees are currently $24 and fingerprints aren’t required for a Florida Criminal History Search.When conducting Florida background checks, it’s important to note that fingerprints are required for a Compromised Identity Review, but the search is free.

When requesting criminal searches in which the date of birth (DOB) isn’t known, you should include an approximate age of the person as well as his or her Social Security Number, sex, race and any known address. Whether you are conducting Florida criminal background checks yourself or hiring a commercial service, providing as many facts as possible is likely to get the most comprehensive criminal records results.

Criminal records information can be accessed in person, by mail or via telephone through the FDLE: :

Florida Department of Law Enforcement
User Services Bureau
Criminal History Services
PO Box 1489
Tallahassee, FL 32302

Florida Criminal History Search — $24 – (850) 410-8109 FDLE Criminal History Services Section
(No fingerprints are required and checks or money orders should be payable to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.)

Compromised Identity Review – Free – (850) 410-8880
(Fingerprints are required.)